From: Michal Suchanek Date: 2009-08-22T03:37:14+09:00 Subject: Re: Github and _why 2009/8/21 Robert Klemme : > On 21.08.2009 19:05, Tony Arcieri wrote: >> >> On Fri, Aug 21, 2009 at 10:38 AM, John W Higgins >> wrote: >> >>> Github nor anyone else has no business whatsoever touching one single >>> byte >>> of data that _why deleted from his account. This would be an absolutely >>> ridiculous precedent to set and in complete violation of their privacy >>> policy which clearly says Github has no rights to any data stored on >>> their >>> servers. >> >> Do concepts like open source and distributed source control escape you? >>  It >> may be that _why has moved on, but his source code will live on without >> him. > > That's not the point.  John's point is - and I fully subscribe to it - that > convenience arguments are not allowed to break contracts: /if/ the terms of > operation of github (that everybody subscribes to) prohibit access to > account data after it has been willfully deleted by the account owner then > nobody must try to recover them only to prevent the inconvenience that the > community needs to resort to forks or other copies of the material. > > If people fight for their freedom of information and mistrust Google for > actually or allegedly abusing user data then it is a bad idea to call for > violation of rules if it serves their convenience. > > It seems indeed that github's terms prevent access after account deletion: > > Cancellation and Termination > >   1. You are solely responsible for properly canceling your account. An > email or phone request to cancel your account is not considered > cancellation. You can cancel your account at any time by clicking on the > Account link in the global navigation bar at the top of the screen. The > Account screen provides a simple no questions asked cancellation link. > >   2. All of your Content will be immediately deleted from the Service upon > cancellation. This information can not be recovered once your account is > cancelled. > > http://github.com/site/terms > > Data Storage > > Logical Awesome uses third party vendors and hosting partners to provide the > necessary hardware, software, networking, storage, and related technology > required to run GitHub. Although Logical Awesome owns the code, databases, > and all rights to the GitHub application, you retain all rights to your > data. > Still if somebody has a branch of the project hosted on github the repository of the deleted project is also a part of *their* project. It is only a storage optimization to not clone the entire repository each time a new fork/branch project is created. To provide uninterrupted service to users who have such project on github the repositories should not have been removed in the first place. Thanks Michal